Third candidate joins Pilot Mountain race

By Aila Boyd -

PILOT MOUNTAIN — Mary Nunn Meijboom, 67, has decided to take the plunge into Pilot Mountain politics, adding her name to the ballet for the Pilot Mountain Board of Commissioners election this November.

Meijboom, of Carson Road, has lived in Pilot Mountain for the past 28 years, having originally moved to the area from Dry Pond, Virginia. Meijboom is the owner of Nunn Memorials, which she noted recently celebrated its 10 year anniversary.

“I’ve been a local business owner and active in the community for many years now,” Meijboom said. “After much encouragement from citizens I’ve decided to no longer sit on the sidelines and to become an active participant in the things that are happening.”

According to Meijboom, she is a member of the Civic Club and was vice president of the Pilot Mountain Merchants Association when the organization was first forming in the late 1990s.

Coming from a business background, Meijboom explained that if elected, tourism would be at the forefront of her efforts.

“I would like to see more tourism in Pilot Mountain, our downtown areas have a tendency to be overlooked,” Meijboom said, adding “I would also like to see some of the areas throughout town cleaned up.”

Meijboom will be running against incumbent Kimberly Quinn and Evan Cockerham, 30, who is also seeking public office for the first time. Cordie Armstrong could not be reached as of Thursday afternoon to verify whether or not she intended on filing for re-election.

Despite the fact that three individuals will be on the ballet, only two of the four commissioners’ seats are available.

The Pilot Mountain Board of Commissioners are elected at-large, with the two candidates that receive the first and second highest number of votes winning the election and will take office.

Meijboom joins an already expanded list of candidates throughout Surry County seeking election to pubic office in November, with the filing deadline for Surry County municipalities including Dobson, Elkin and Pilot Mountain closing Friday.

In Dobson, incumbents Vonda Comer, Todd Dockery and Robin Testerman have all filed to run for re-election.

Sam Bishop has filed to run for mayor in Elkin, while Tommy Wheeler has filed to run for the Board of Commissions, with their being two seats available.

In Mount Airy, incumbents seeking re-election include Chairwoman Wendy Carriker and board members Mike Marion, Kate Appler and Phil Thacker.

The filing deadline for the four available seats on the Mount Airy City School Board closes on Aug. 5 at noon.

In addition, the Elkin School Board has two seats up for grabs, with only incumbents Richard Briegar and Haley McCoin Sullivan filing thus far. The filing deadline is Aug. 8.

By Aila Boyd

comments powered by Disqus