Incumbents leading as primary comes to close

With six of Mount Airy’s seven precincts reporting results around 8:45 p.m., incumbents in both city board of commissioners primaries were leading in votes, though it was a narrow lead in one four-way race.

Incumbent Jim Armbrister was leading a four-person race for the at-large seat with 308 votes. Challenger Jerry Taylor was second at 272, and Gene Clark was third at 211. Gail Proffitt-Kernodle was fourth with 14 votes.

The top two voter-getters in the primary advance to face off in the general election scheduled for Nov. 3

In the North Ward primary, incumbent Dean Brown had 336 votes, compared to 280 by N.A. Barnes and 194 by Bruce Springthorpe.
comments powered by Disqus