Local musicians do well in Sparta competition

Staff report

The Mount Airy-based band Possum Holler competes in the Alleghany County Fiddlers Convention held in Sparta recently.

A Mount Airy-based old-time music band took top honors recently in the Alleghany County Fiddlers Convention held in Sparta.

The Slate Mountain Ramblers brought home the prize as the top old time band in the annual competition that featured 35 bands competing along with 230 individual contestants.

The Granite City was represented by several other winning contestants as well.

Eric Marshall took top honors in the vocal competition and Tommy Nichols finished second in that category, while Marsha Todd finished first in the old time banjo competition.

Ben Marshall took fifth place in the bass competition and Richard Bowman took second in the old time fiddle competition.

Other area winners included Josh Hazelwood of Dobson finishing fifth in the dobro competition and Stanley Widner, Fancy Gap, Va., in the old time banjo competition, and Mason Gwyn, Ararat, Va., taking first in junior guitar and Kyser George, of Westfield winning the junior bass category.

Possum Holler Band of Mount Airy performs a rendition of the old tune “Soldier’s Joy” for old time band competition at the Alleghany County Fiddlers Convention in Sparta on July 17.

The Alleghany County Fiddlers Convention, held July 17-18 in Sparta, N.C., had 230 contestants in junior and senior individual categories and 35 bands. The event is hosted by the Sparta-Alleghany Volunteer Fire Department every year on the third weekend in July at the Alleghany Fairgrounds.

Winners are listed beginning with first place.

Old time band – Slate Mountain Ramblers, Mount Airy; Blue Ridge Mountain Ramblers, Sparta; Correll’s Bait and Tackle, Elk Creek, Va.; New River Renegades, Mouth of Wilson, Va.; Hard Cider, Elk Creek.

Bluegrass band – Bad Ridge, Oakwood, Va.; Turkey Creek, Kingsport, Tenn.; Sons of the South, Troutman; Claybank, West Jefferson; Adam McPeak and Mountain Thunder, Wytheville, Va.

Junior band – Shadow Grass, Troutdale, Va.; Jones Sisters, Linwood.

Bluegrass fiddle – Crystal Shipley, Kingsport, Tenn.; Kitty Amaral, Elk Creek, Va.; Jacob Turnbill, Shelby; Avery Davis, Radford, Va.; David Woodie, Huntersville.

Old time fiddle – Lucas Pasley, Sparta; Richard Bowman, Mount Airy; Jerry Correll, Elk Creek; Helen White, Mouth of Wilson; Brett Martin, Elk Creek.

Junior fiddle – Ruth Shumway, West Jefferson; Marissa Colter, Clemmons.; Sarah Lemonds, Charlotte; Cooper Parsons, Crumpler; Eliza Meyer, Raleigh.

Old time banjo – Marsha Todd, Mount Airy; Trish Fore, Galax, Va.; Jared Boyd, Laurel Fork, Va.; Madison Shepherd, West Jefferson; Stanley Widner, Fancy Gap, Va.

Bluegrass banjo – Andy Lowe, Winston-Salem; Steve Chrisley, Wytheville, Va.; Clay Russell, Troutdale; Eric Hardin, West Jefferson; Grayson Tuttle, Wilkesboro.

Junior banjo – Clay Busic, Piney Creek; Brittany Osborne, Jefferson; Caleb Osborne, Piney Creek.

Mandolin – Matt Stacy, Grundy; Connor Lambert, Troutman; Austin Tate, Marion, Va.; Zack Arnold, West Jefferson; Rodney Hodges, Galax, Va.

Junior mandolin – Peyton Sexton, Sparta.

Guitar – Presley Barker, Traphill; Steve Lewis, Todd; Jacob Greer, Jefferson; Nic K. Weitzenfeld, Roanoke, Va.; Steve Kilby, Mouth of Wilson.

Junior guitar – Mason Gwyn, Ararat, Va.; Hazel Pasley, Sparta; Mason Wagoner, Glade Valley.

Bass – David Chrisley, Wytheville; Jamie Stacy, Oakwood; Scott Gentry, Roaring River; Loyd Richardson, Warrensville; Ben Marshall, Mount Airy.

Junior bass – Kyser George, Westfield; Katie Jones, Linwood.

Autoharp – Vickie Boyd, Laurel Fork; JoAnn Redd, Galax; Bobbi Roberts, Galax; Mary Umbarger, Harmony; Penny Kilby, Mouth of Wilson.

Dulcimer – Ehukai Teves, Bryson City; Clarence Roberts, Galax; David Parks, Dublin, Va.; Lois Hornbostel, Bryson City; Alan Darveaux, Morganton.

Dobro – Keith Aiken, Henderson; Jordan Roberson, Stoneville; Glenn Craver, Winston-Salem; John Powell, Mocksville, N.C.; Josh Hazelwood, Dobson.

Vocal – Eric Marshall, Mount Airy; Tommy Nichols, Mount Airy; Donna Correll, Elk Creek; Tom Rosencrans, Fries, Va.; Dennis Joines, Sparta.

Harmonica – Eddie Ogle, Wytheville; Glen Zuhlke, Galax; Paul Hiatt, High Point; Milton Scott, Thurmond; Wayne Childress, High Point.

Senior dance – Samantha Wilhelmi, Cherie Compton, JoAnn Call, Vicky Boyd, Stacey Boyd.

Junior dance – Madison Shepherd, Tyler Carrico, Mary Claire Hooper, Marissa Colter, Liam Purcell.

Children’s dance participants – Cooper Parsons, Gio Lopez.

The Mount Airy-based band Possum Holler competes in the Alleghany County Fiddlers Convention held in Sparta recently.
https://www.mtairynews.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/07/web1_Possum-Holler.jpgThe Mount Airy-based band Possum Holler competes in the Alleghany County Fiddlers Convention held in Sparta recently.

Staff report

comments powered by Disqus