Dailey, Long earn recognition

First Posted: 4/18/2015

North Surry’s Khaileel Dailey and East Surry’s Carson Long were selected for the NCPreps.com All-State boys basketball teams. Dailey, a senior guard/forward, made the 2A team, and Long, a senior forward, made the 1A team.

Dailey paced the Greyhounds in scoring at 18 points per game. He shot 49 percent from the field in 26 games and posted just under 4 rebounds and 2.7 steals per game. North went 21-5 this season and won the Western Piedmont Conference title.

The 6-foot-2 Dailey, who won WPC player of the year honors, helped the Hounds to the third round of the 2A West playoffs. In the postseason, North defeated Hendersonville and West Stokes before falling to Lexington. Dailey transferred from Mount Airy prior to his senior year.

Long led the Cardinals in scoring (22.1) and rebounding (10.3). The 6-foot-4 Long poured in a career-high 39 points in a game against Walkertown this season. He guided East to an 18-7 record and a third-place finish in the tough Northwest 1A Conference. Long, the NW1A player of the year, helped East reach the second-round of the 1A West playoffs, where the Cards fell to Starmount.

Long saw an increased role with the Cards this past year with the departure of the school’s leading basketball scorer Scott Meredith in 2014. Meredith has since signed with Division I Saint Francis University (Pennsylvania).

Brandon Ingram of Kinston was named NCPreps.com player of the year. The 6-foot-8 small forward has offers from North Carolina, Duke, Kansas, Kentucky, UCLA and N.C. State. Ingram, the AP prep player of the year, averaged 24.3 points and 10.4 rebounds per game while leading Kinston to its fourth straight 2A state basketball crown.

Joining Dailey on the 2A list: Jordan Blakeney (Forest Hills), Zach Hobbs (Northside-Jacksonville), Brandon Ingram (Kinston), Jake Konstanzer (First Flight), Jo’Vante Millner (Cummings), Kris Monroe (South Granville), Spencer Norris (Smoky Mountain), JaKishe Page (Lexington), Judson Petty (Randleman), Rahu Purdie (West Bladen), Cal Raleigh (Smoky Mountain), Chazz Surratt (East Lincoln) and Sage Surratt (East Lincoln).

Joining Long on the 1A list: Edrice Adebayo (Northside), James Ashley (Starmount), Jacque Brown (East Carteret), Zach Cottrell (Hayesville), Tahjee Elliott (Perquimans), Terrace Ellis (Albemarle), Kwa’Tre Hollingsworth (Winston-Salem Prep), Jay Huff (Voyager Academy), Christian Ingram (Roxboro Community), Shawn Kirk (Whiteville), Bralen Morrison (East Montgomery), Asante Sanders (Bessemer City), Chris Sauce (Voyager Academy), James Stewart (Avery County) and Trevor Willis (East Carteret).

comments powered by Disqus