Last updated: May 10. 2014 10:55PM - 951 Views
Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PILOT MOUNTAIN — North Stokes dominated the Northwest softball season, then raked in the postseason awards this weekend.

The Lady Vikings (20-2) were undefeated in the regular season, then won both games in the NW conference tournament.

After North Stokes edged East Surry 3-2 in the final, East athletic director Randy Marion unveiled the coaches’ selections for the Northwest All-Tournament Team.

One player was selected from each of the semifinal losers: Bishop’s Erin Redden and Walkertown’s Breanna Butcher.

From the second-place team, the Cards selected were Amber Lawson, Emily Cummings and Laken Bowman.

For the Vikings, Heather Nall, Sabrina Dodson and Lindsay Brown made the team, while Ashley Smith was named tournament MVP.

For the season-long awards, with only nine positions on a softball field, the Vikings picked up eight all-conference awards and one honorable mention.

Also, pitcher Lindsay Brown took player of the year and Jeff Frye coach of the year.

The eight Vikings selected were Lindsay Brown, Sabrina Dodson, Tana Frye, Emily Evans, Chandley Garner, Tristen Hubbard, Ashley Smith and Carson Watkins. Hannah McBride was an honorable mention.

East Surry went 9-3 against conference foes, losing only to North Stokes. The Cards landed seven players on the first team.

Those were Laken Bowman, Emily Cummings, Amber Lawson, Kelsey Martin, Sarah Moore, Lauren Sechrist and Olivia Sheets. Cummings, Lawson and Sheets are returning all-conference performers.

For honorable mention, the Cards selected were Brooke Bowman and Brooke Whittington.

For Mount Airy, catcher and leading hitter Kinley Tate made the first team as a freshman. Amy Kunkel, who batted .433 and had 11 RBIs, missed the first team but made honorable mention as a sophomore.

Here is the full list for all-conference.

1 BM 2 Erin Redden Sr CF

2 ES 9 Amber Lawson Sr. C

3 ES 5 Emily Cummings So P, CF

4 ES 15 Kelsey Martin Jr. CF, 3rd

5 ES 2 Laken Bowman Jr. P, 3rd

6 ES 7 Lauren Sechrist Sr. RF

7 ES 8 Oliva Sheets Jr. SS

8 ES 13 Sarah Moore Sr. 2B

9 MA Kinley Tate Fr. C/P

10 NSt 22 Ashley Smith Soph C

11 NSt 12 Carson Watkins Soph 3rd

12 NSt 1 Chandley Garner Fr SS

13 NSt 15 Emily Evans Fr DP

14 NSt 16 Emily Myers Jr LF

15 NSt 14 Lindsay Brown Sr P

16 NSt 6 Sabrina Dodson Jr 1st

17 NSt 7 Tana Frye Soph 2nd

18 NSt 8 Tristen Hubbard Jr P/RF

19 Walk 7 Breanna Butcher Fr. C/SS

20 Walk 11 Olivia Dunivant Jr. P/SS

Honorable Mention

BM Samantha Pelc Sr 1B

BM Melissa Rademaker

ES Brooke Bowman

ES Brooke Whittington

MA Amy Kunkel Soph Inf/C

MA Katie Hicks Soph P

NSt Hannah McBride

Walk Taylor Dodson Fr. 1st

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Mount Airy Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com