Last updated: August 27. 2014 6:14PM - 525 Views
Staff Report

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The Mount Airy Alumni Association (MAAA) is seeking nominations for another round of awards for its Granite Bear graduates.

In the fall of 2013, the association kicked off the newly organized group by honoring outstanding alumni and educational leaders from the Mount Airy City Schools. The group’s mission is to “…remember, reconnect and recognize our alumni and staff of the Mount Airy City Schools (MACS).”

“We are in our second year and it is still a new and growing idea,” said Tanya Taylor, president. “The awareness is growing through our Facebook page and our website. Our feedback from the first year was very positive and I look forward to where this effort continues to lead us.”

Allen Burton, vice president said, “Having a central point of contact for Mount Airy alumni will be beneficial to those returning to Mount Airy to live, work and play. I think this supplements the many great efforts and partnerships going on in our community today.”

In 2013, Mount Airy Alumni Distinction of Honor Awards were given to David Rowe, receiving the Service and Citizenship Award for demonstrating “outstanding loyalty and volunteer service” to the school district. John Springthorpe III received the Excellence and Advocacy Award for “pursuit of high academic achievement of Mount Airy City Schools students and staff sharing time, talent and expertise.” Dr. Dale Simmons received the Professional Achievement Award for “significant contribution and accomplishments” in his chosen career profession.

The 2013 Educational Distinction of Honor recognitions were given to the late H. M. Finch, Kate Barringer, Detra Baker, Lynn Wagoner, Kelly Holder, and Maxine Hamilton. This category recognizes educational leaders in the “outstanding performance, dedication, loyalty and commitment to the service of duties assigned by the Mount Airy Schools.”

For those interested in making a nomination, forms can be picked up in any Mount Airy City school office or the Central Office located at 130 Rawley Avenue. All nominations are due by Sept. 12. Mail to MAAA at P.O. Box 6723 Mount Airy, NC 27030. The awards will be presented during the pregame time at the Oct. 24 home football game, Mount Airy vs Walkertown. Any questions regarding the MAAA, membership, or award nominations can be emailed to alumni@mtairy.k12.nc.us.

On Oct. 18 an “All Classes Reunion” is planned at The Old North State Winery. Greg Williamson’s BBQ Band will be playing for the event with the MAAA providing hors d’oeuvres. For more information on this All Classes Reunion contact cleve_folger@yahoo.com.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Mount Airy Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com