School board members to run unopposed

Staff Report

DOBSON — Mount Airy Board of Education members will run unopposed in November’s election.

On Friday at noon the filing period for the city school board came to a close, and only the four incumbents’ names will appear on the November ballot.

In District D, Board of Education Chairwoman Wendy Carriker will retain her seat by default. Carriker, 59, has served on the board since 1996.

Kate Appler, 62, who was first elected to her District C seat in 2004, will also run unopposed.

Mike Marion, the board’s newest member, also has no challengers in his first bid to be retained. Marion, 50, was appointed in 2015 to fill the unexpired term of Amy Bledsoe.

Phillip Thacker, 62, of District A, will ride his campaign to victory lane by way of default. Thacker has served on the board since 2000.

Elections for Mount Airy Board of Education will occur on November 8.

Staff Report

comments powered by Disqus