South Stokes wins tourney, 4 Hounds advance

By Jeff Linville

May 1, 2014

WINSTON-SALEM — South Stokes won the first-ever Western Piedmont Conference Golf Tournament this week at Reynolds Park.

Keenany Denny won the medalist honor for the Sauras as the passing showers missed the course entirely, according to North Surry head coach Daniel Broughton.

The course wasn’t a bit wet, and with the pleasant temperature it made for a great day, Broughton said.

This is Broughton’s first year at North Surry after nine years at Surry Central.

The Hounds finished the season just four strokes behind West Stokes for third place and an automatic berth in the 2A regional tournament.

North trailed West Stokes much of the season, but had recently passed the Wildcats for third place. Then in this event the Cats jumped back ahead of the Hounds.

Instead of the entire team going to Salisbury, the Hounds had to qualify as individuals. Four members of the team made the cut: Noah Lyons, Taylor Mundy, Corbin Soots and Jed Whitaker.

T.J. Ramey is a good player, but he just missed out on making the field, Broughton said.

T.J. has a part-time job and wasn’t able to make the practice round before the event, the coach explained.

With the four who did qualify, Broughton said he likes his chances of getting at least one person qualified for the state 2A tournament.

Today, the team will play a 2 p.m. practice round at the Country Club of Salisbury.

The coach told the players to take a notepad and write down notes about the course that they can refer back to when they play on Tuesday morning.

The coach said the tournament begins at 8 a.m., and he will receive his individual tee times over the weekend.

Salisbury sets up similar to Cross Creek, so it should play in the guys’ favor, he noted.

Here are the team scores from Tuesday’s match:

1. South Stokes 308, 2. West Stokes 322, Forbush 323, North Surry 332, Surry Central 343, Carver 461

Individual leaders: t1. Keenan Denny (SS) 73; t1. Tanner Bibey (SS) 73; 3. Logan Lineberry (F) 75; 4. A.J. Boyd (SS) 77; t5. Wesley Brown (F) 78; t5. Ezra Goldbatt (WS) 78; t7. Wesley Stone (WS) 80; t7. Corbin Soots (NS) 80; 9. Chase Graham (SC) 81.