Bennett named county schools Volunteer of the Year

David Broyles

April 15, 2014

DOBSON — Surry County Schools took time out to honor its volunteers at a reception Tuesday night at the Shelton-Badgett Center for Vitaculture and Enology. Les Bennett of Pilot Mountain Elementary was named volunteer of the year at the ice cream social.

Bennett’s work on helping organize the school’s annual spring fling, promoting Positive Behavior Interventions and Supports (PBIS) in schools, fund raising and leading the Parent Teacher Organization were praised as well as his leadership in community relations on behalf of the school were among the accolades mentioned earning him the honor.

“I so look forward to this event because it is when I get to see the people who keep us (the school system) ticking,” said Board of Education Chairman Earlie Coe. “You are the ones who take us to a higher plateau and you do it for no pay. You do it because you love kids. Thank you so very much for what you do.”

Students from Shoals Elementary School entertained the group with two songs led by elementary music teacher Beverly Hembree. The selections highlighted Olivia Marion and Andrea Palmer as featured singers and also featured students using plastic pipes called “Boomwackers” to accompany another song.

Third grade Dobson Elementary student Gwen Bode served as the emcee for the event, reading the individual school volunteer recognitions. School Superintendent Dr. Travis Reeves described Bode as a student who loves to read and write and also acts with groups at the Andy Griffith Playhouse. Each volunteer was presented a book with pictures from their school or schools commemorating the award. Central Middle student Meredith Stroud and Rockford Elementary student Sara Collins were greeters for the reception.

Individual school volunteers of the year named were Brooke Johnson of Cedar Ridge Elementary; Kim Layne of Central Middle; Maegan Johnson of Copeland Elementary, Jeraldine Quesinberry of Dobson Elementary; Lisa Sisk of East Surry; Patsy Bryant of Flat Rock Elementary; Alma Moser of Franklin Elementary; Joe Voss of Gentry Middle; Brandy Strickland of Meadowview Middle; Karen Hayworth of Mountain Park; Les Bennett of Pilot Mountain Elementary; Jennifer Bullington of Pilot Mountain Middle; Frosty White of Rockford Elementary; Jennifer Bullington of Shoals; Lisa Harris of Surry Central; Fred and Trina Goettel of Surry Early College; Renee Bullington of Westfield; Jon Lattimore of White Plains and Robin Hauser of North Surry.

“When we come together like this it makes us feel special and like a community,” said Reeves in his remarks to the volunteers honored. “To know you are making an impact and setting an example for others to follow is a great feeling. You have pride in everything you do. You’re part of something larger. The work you are doing makes a difference every day. This is certainly a special day and a special event.”

Earlier in the ceremony Reeves quoted from Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. who said “everyone has the power of greatness, not by fame but by service.” He told the group giving back to their communities is “so important and so rich” and they were setting a great example for more than just students.

David Broyles may be reached at 336-719-1952 or on twitter@MtAiryNewsDave.