Cardinals soar past Wolfpack in first round

Jeremy Moorhouse

February 19, 2014

PILOT MOUNTAIN —East Surry made quick work of Walkertown with a 63-41 win in the opening round of the Northwest Conference Tournament on Tuesday night.

The Cardinals (20-5) outscored the Wolfpack 18-5 in the first quarter and pushed the lead to 21 points by halftime. East will travel to Bishop McGuinness on Thursday night for the tournament semifinals. The finals will be held at Bishop on Friday.

Carson Long had a game-high 13 points to lead East. Tyler Smith and Seth Brim hit double-figures with 11 apiece.

Prior to the game, East recognized its seniors — Brim, Scott Meredith, Bryan Banks and Cody Ashburn. Meredith was also recognized for reaching the 1,000-point milestone earlier this season. The point guard is No. 2 on the school’s all-time scoring list behind Bennie Moss.

“Scott is the only point guard I’ve had where I can say, ‘You call the plays’” East coach Jason Anderson. “I guess next year I’ll have to get used to calling the plays again.”

East got a balanced scoring attack as 11 players got in the scorebook against the Wolfpack. East opened the game on an 11-0 run and Walkertown didn’t score until converting a free throw with 3:50 left in the first quarter.

Long had nine of his 13 points in the first half and Brim scored six of East’s 18 first-quarter points. The 6-foot-5 forward/center got the crowd going with a two-handed dunk in the first quarter.

The Cardinals had the edge at the foul line — hitting 10 of 17. Walkertown shot just 4 of 11.

Up next for East is another matchup with the Villains. The Cardinals took a 64-60 win at Bishop on Monday night to claim the No. 2 seed in the conference.

East Surry 63, Walkertown 41

Walkertown59918 — 41

East Surry18 17 18 10 — 63

Walkertown: Boston 2, Locklear 2, Bartlett 5, Jon Transou 3, Tyler 5, Josh Transou 7, Jones 10, Penn 3, James Transou 3

East Surry: Scott Meredith 2, Bryan Banks 8, Jacob Bowman 2, Carson Long 13, Tyler Smith 11, Jack Edwards 2, Cody Ashburn 6, Trevor Johnson 4, Garrett Vass 2, Seth Brim 11, Jacob Todd 2